Zanaco F.C.

From Chalo Chatu, Zambia online encyclopedia
(Redirected from Zanaco FC)

Zanaco FC
Full nameZanaco Football Club
Nickname(s)The Bankers, Sensational
GroundSunset Stadium, Lusaka
Ground Capacity10,000
ChairmanEdward Mutale
ManagerMumamba Numba
LeagueMTN/FAZ Super Division

Zanaco FC is a Zambian football club based in Lusaka that plays in the MTN/FAZ Super Division. They play their home games at Sunset Stadium in Lusaka.Zanaco Football Club was formed in 1978 as a social team by management trainees of Zambia National Commercial Bank. The team was launched at LOTUS INN in Lusaka. The founding members were Lloyd Choongo, Ben Banda, Nathan Lupupa and John Kasengele. Starting from the 1980s, Zanaco started growing steadily from a mere social club to becoming one of the most successful and decorated club in Zambian football history. Over the years the Sunset Stadium-based team has won 6 Super League trophies, 4 Charity Shields, 1 Coca-Cola Cup, 1 Mosi Cup and 3 BP Cups. Zanaco are the only team outside of Zambia's Copperbelt Province to have not only won but also defended the Super League Trophy!

Zanaco stands for Zambia National Commercial Bank.


2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2012
1987, 1988, 2006
2001, 2004
2001, 2003, 2006

Performance in CAF competitions

2003 – First Round
2004 – Second Round
2006 – First Round
2007 – First Round
2010 – Last 16
2010 – Group stage
2001 – First Round
2002 – First Round

Current squad

For the 2016 CAF Confederations Cup[1]

Note: Flags indicate national team as defined under FIFA eligibility rules. Players may hold more than one non-FIFA nationality.

No. Position Player
1 Zambia GK Racha Kola
2 Zambia DF Andrew Kwiliko
3 Zambia DF Ziyo Tembo
5 Zambia DF Aaron Katebe
6 Zambia DF Pater Jacob Banda
7 Zambia MF Saith Sakala
8 Zambia DF Lee Ngoma
10 Zambia MF Portipher Zulu
11 Zambia MF Charles Zulu
12 Zambia MF Ernest Mbewe
13 Zambia MF Roderick Kabwe
14 Zambia MF Richard Kasonde
15 Zambia FW Logic Chingandu
16 Zambia GK Toaster Nsabata
No. Position Player
17 Zambia MF Obrey Funga
18 Zambia GK Mangani Banda
19 Zambia DF Gift Sakuwaha
20 Zambia MF Henry Banda
21 Zambia DF Fackson Kapumbu
22 Zambia MF Augustine Mulenga
23 Zambia DF Dave Daka
24 Zambia MF Derrick Mwansa
25 Zambia DF George Chilufya
26 Zambia MF Portipher Zulu
27 Zambia DF Salulani Phiri
29 Zambia DF Mwewa Sakala
30 Zambia MF Fashion Sakala

Club officials/Technical team

Former Managers


<templatestyles src="Reflist/styles.css" />

External links

  • Zanaco FC – Zanaco
  • [1] – Zanaco Football Cub Official Website
  • [2] – Zanaco F C Official Facebook page