Nkana F.C.

From Chalo Chatu, Zambia online encyclopedia
(Redirected from Nkana Red Devils)
Nkana FC
Full nameNkana Football Club
Nickname(s)Kalampa (The Reds), Red Devils
GroundNkana Stadium, Wusakili, Kitwe
Ground Capacity10,000
ChairmanEvaristo Kabila
ManagerAggrey Chiyangi
LeagueMTN/FAZ Super Division

Nkana FC is a Zambian football club based in Kitwe that plays in the MTN/FAZ Super Division. It is largely Zambia's most successful and popular football club. They play their home games at Nkana Stadium in Wusakili, Kitwe.

The club is currently sponsored by Mopani Copper Mines.[1]


Nkana FC is one of Zambia’s oldest football clubs having been formed in 1935 in Kitwe's Wusakili township. The club was founded under the name of Rhokana United FC before it changed to Nkana Red Devils. In 1990, they were runners-up in the African Cup of Champions, the only Zambian team to ever reach the finals.

Over the years, Nkana have accumulated a record of success having won the Premier League title twelve times, most recently in 2013.

On 23 May 2014, head coach Masautso Mwale died in a road traffic accident on the eve of the home game against Séwé Sport of the Ivory Coast in the Group B in the 2014 CAF Confederation Cup. The accident occurred near Maposa area and his car overturned several times as he was driving back to join the team in camp in Kitwe.[2]


1982, 1983, 1985, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1993, 1999, 2001, 2013
1986, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, 2000
1964, 1966 (as Rhokana United)
1992, 1993, 1998, 1999, 2000

Performance in CAF competitions

2000 – Second Round
2002 – Second Round
2014 – Second Round

1998 – Quarter-Finals
2001 – Second Round
1999 – Second Round


Current squad

As of 25 March 2014. Note: Flags indicate national team as defined under FIFA eligibility rules. Players may hold more than one non-FIFA nationality.

No. Position Player
1 Zambia GK Mufwaya Makasa
2 Zambia FW Jimmy Ndhlovu
3 Zambia DF Masautso Zimba
5 Zambia DF Noel Phiri
6 Zambia DF Donashano Malama
7 Zambia MF Mwila Kabwe
8 Zambia MF Sydney Kalume (Captain)
10 Zambia MF Frank Chibuye
11 Zambia FW Lottie Nyimbili
12 Zambia MF Shadrick Musonda
13 Zambia MF Simon Bwalya
14 Zambia MF Claude Bwalya
No. Position Player
16 Zambia GK Rabson Mucheleng'anga
17 Zambia MF Kelvin Mubanga
18 Zambia DF Billy Mwanza
19 Zambia FW Joseph Milanzi
20 Zambia DF Joseph Lungu
22 Zambia MF Bruce Musakanya
23 Zambia MF Rabson Lwambula
24 Zambia DF Derrick Mwansa
25 Zambia DF Christopher Munthali
27 Zambia DF Maybin Chishimba
29 Zambia FW Francis Kombe
30 Zambia GK Charles Mweemba

Former coaches


<templatestyles src="Reflist/styles.css" />

  1. Lua error in ...ribunto/includes/engines/LuaCommon/lualib/mwInit.lua at line 23: bad argument #1 to 'old_ipairs' (table expected, got nil).
  2. Lua error in ...ribunto/includes/engines/LuaCommon/lualib/mwInit.lua at line 23: bad argument #1 to 'old_ipairs' (table expected, got nil).