Introduction (1972 album)

From Chalo Chatu, Zambia online encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Introduction (1972 album)
Introduction by WITCH.jpg
by The W.I.T.C.H.
StudioThe WITCH Records
ProducerPhillip Musonda
The W.I.T.C.H. chronology
Introduction (1972 album) In The Past (1972)

Introduction was a Zamrock record by the 70s Zambian band WITCH in 1972. It was the first commercially released record in Zambia privately pressed by the band and their manager. 300 copies were produced and hand-sold by their manager at shows.

The album’s first song ‘Introduction’ starts with lead singer Emmanuel “Jagari” Chanda introducing the band members.


  • A1. Introduction
  • A2. Home Town (Instrumental)
  • A3. You Better Know
  • A4. Feeling High
  • A5. Like A Chicken
  • B1. See You Mama
  • B2. That's What I Want
  • B3. Try Me (Instrumental)
  • B4. No Time


The band


Recorded at Malachite Studios (Chingola, Zambia)

  • All Songs Arranged by WITCH
  • Executive Producer/Manager: Phillip Musonda
  • Originally Released by WITCH Records in 1972
  • Original Album Design (Insert): The WITCH Records
  • Acquired & Reissued by Zambia Music Parlour in 1974
  • Musical Producer/Director for Zambia Music Parlour: Edward Godfrey Khuzwayo